Drivers »

Thorkild Thyrring

--- 1987 Le Mans

--- 1988 Le Mans

--- 1993 Le Mans

--- 1994 Le Mans

--- 1995 Le Mans

--- 1998 BGTC

--- 1999 BGTC

--- 1999 SSC

--- 2005 Le Mans

--- 2006 Le Mans

Thorkild Thyrring »

Thorkild Thyrring - DTC 2003

Birthday: 24-10-1946

Thorkild Thyrring has been racing cars forever - somehow he has just always been around. But the first time he really is noticed is around 1970 when he drives in the - in those days - new class - Formula Ford. He is one of the frontrunners but never wins the Danish Championship even though he comes close. Twice - in 1972 and 1973 - he is runner-up.

Later Thorkild Thyrring begins racing abroad. First in Formula 3, but it is in sportscars he is most succesfull. In the years 1982-1985 he wins the European Championship in Sports 2000 prototypes 3 times.

He then began racing bigger and more powerfull prototypes and in 1985 he makes his debut in the World Championship for group C2 racers. This puts the Le Mans 24 Hours race on his schedule and in 1987 he becomes the third danish driver to finish at Le Mans. He finishes as 10th and this was the best danish result ever.

A peak in his career is reached in 1988 where Thorkild Thyrring is classified as third in the World Championship for group C2 racers, taking 3 victories. But a few years later group C racing is going down the drain and Thorkild Thyrring reemerges in the British GT Championship. Here he races throughout the 1990's with class championships in 1993, 1994 and 1995 as the best results.

Thorkild Thyrring has races at the Le Mans 24 Hours many times, but still his best result is 10th in 1987.

In the late 1990's Thorkild Thyrring initiated a concept known in Denmark as "Drive with your hero". Motorsport fans can buy a ride with their favorite driver as a passenger inP> a race car at race track. The money raised has been given to the Red Cross and other charity organisations. These events were very popular and has given Thorkild Thyrring much credit.

Number of models: 11
Number of kits: 3 © 2007